Some musicians mentored by Douglas Lawrence

  • Robin Batterham AO: Chief Scientist of Australia (1999-2006), Organist Emeritus, The Scots’ Church, Melbourne. Robin is currently the Chairman of the ACC board
  • Rhys Boak: Director of Music – St Michael’s, Melbourne
  • Graham Cox: Repetiteur, Deutsche Oper, Berlin (1998-2004), Head of Music Staff, Nuremberg State Theatre (2004-2008)
  • Gary Ekkel: Director, Newman College Choir, University of Melbourne
  • Bruce Fethers: Managing Director, Mini Maestros music programme for pre-schoolers
  • Dianne Gome: Senior Lecturer and Co-ordinator of Post-graduate and Church Music Courses, School of Arts and Sciences, Australian Catholic University (1990-2010)
  • Steven Hodgson: Artistic Director – Consort of Melbourne
  • Tom Healey: Director of Music, Geelong Grammar (1995-2006); Director of Music, St Andrew’s Brighton (2010-2015)
  • Thomas Heywood: Director of Music – St Andrew’s, Brighton
  • Deborah Kayser: Mezzo Soprano – Chamber Made Opera, Elision, Aphids, Jouissance, Eurotrash Taksim
  • Jacob Lawrence: Tenor Soloist, Pinchgut Opera, La Cetra (Switzerland), Gare du Nord Productions (Switzerland)
  • Graham Lieschke: Director of the Bach Cantata Programme, St John’s Lutheran Church, Southbank
  • Timothy Reynolds: Opera Victoria, Melbourne Opera, Opera Australia
  • Sally Wilson: Washington Opera, Ravinia Festival (Illinois, USA), Krakow Philharmonie, Aldeburgh Festival (UK), Berlin Konzerthaus, The Puccini Festival (Torre del Lago, Italy)

The above list is not comprehensive.

Current ACC members mentored by Douglas Lawrence

  • Pippa Andrew: directs Beyond the Bathroom community choir and the Albury Choral Society.
  • Elizabeth Anderson: Guest Principal Artist – Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Teacher (Harpsichord and Chamber Music) – Conservatorium of Music, University of Melbourne
  • Elspeth Bawden: After being offered a place at Royal College London in 2017, Elspeth is currently raising funds to embark on a Masters Degree.
  • Luke Hutton: Currently enrolled in a Master of Music in Composition, Conservatorium of Music, University of Melbourne.
  • Ben Owen: Acting Director of Music, Christ Church, South Yarra, 2013
  • Ria Polo: Assistant organist, The Scots’ Church
  • Alasdair Stretch: Head Chorister, St Andrew’s, Brighton
  • Erika Tandiono: Beginning a Masters Degree in Early Music in Bremen, Germany in September 2018
  • Jennifer and Lucas Wilson-Richter: manage and direct the Diamond Valley Singers.

Composer Commissions

The following Australian composers received commissions from Douglas Lawrence early in their careers and were given the opportunity to workshop their compositions

  • Andrew Batterham
  • Nicholas Edwards
  • Hildy Essex
  • Tom Henry
  • Steven Hodgson
  • Alan Holley
  • Luke Hutton
  • Gordon Kerry
  • Tom Kristof
  • Vaughan McAlley
  • Christine McCombe
  • Loclan McKenzie-Spencer
  • Philip Nunn
  • David Wilson-Peerson
  • Julian Yu

The following choirs have undertaken joint rehearsals and performances with the ACC and their singers

  • Calypso, Dillingen, Germany
  • Castlemaine/Bendigo Community Choir
  • Choir of the Australian Catholic University
  • Church Hill Singers, Hamilton
  • Hamilton Singers, Hamilton, Victoria
  • Hamilton and District Childrens’ Choir
  • Nördlingen Gospel Choir, Germany
  • Tabor Male Choir, Tabor, Victoria
  • The Scots’ Church Choir, Melbourne
  • Wangaratta Cathedral Choir
  • Star Chorale, Melbourne
  • Windfire Chamber Choir, Geelong

Back to the top of this page