Why is light cast upon the sorrowful?

These are the first words of Brahms’ Motet Op.74. And the answer to that question unfolds as one listens to the program:

Composers of the so-called Romantic period dwell on emotions of sadness and longing, because out of these emotions comes some of the most movingly beautiful and joyful music.

From Madrigals by Monteverdi on themes of love to Ravel’s luscious Chansons, this program includes Elgar’s incredible re-arrangement for voices of Nimrod from his Enigma Variations and Samuel Barber’s haunting vocal version of his Adagio for Strings.

The program includes
Johannes Brahms: Motets
Ann Boyd: As I crossed a bridge of dreams
Edward Elgar: Lux Aeterna (transcription for voices of Nimrod, from the Enigma Variations)
Claudio Monteverdi: Madrigals in praise of love
Samuel Barber: Agnus Die (transcription of Adagio for Strings)
Brenton Broadstock: I had a dream
Maurice Ravel: Trois Chansons

Back to the top of this page